Delivery of my new Fund 101 tools, from Axminster Tools center.

The Nice man from TNT delivered these 2 boxes of goodies to me erlier. I ordered them on Friday from Axminster Tool Center after humming and hawing about what I needed to help me in the production of our items. The much needed funds came from Enterprise Nations Fund 101. I applied for a £500 grant in September last year and to qualify I had to acheive 500 votes from people I knew like family and friends, I also spent time networking on facebook, forums and to some extent on twitter (I am a twitter novice). It took me just shy of 6 months to gather the needed votes but in all honesty now I have these boxes sitting here it was all worth it. I feel like I owe a lot of people a huge thank you because without your help I would not have been able to afford these tools.

This is the tool I really needed the most The planer thicknesser. This should really help me with the production time when processing rough or reclaimed timber. It’s still to be put together properly and placed in the workshop but this will give an idea of what it looks like.

This is a great bit of kit and big enough for our small workshop.

The top of it which is still covered with the greased paper will help get a nice straight edge and I can also feed timber into it so as to get a consistant thickness. It is really going to help me speed up production.

Last year after burning out 5 sanders all of which were of domestic quality only I really felt I needed a new industrial quality sander. Having shopped around for a thicknesser that would fit in the workshop and trying to use the £500 grant in a way that I could make the most of it. I decided on this random orbital sander.

plus 100 sanding disks to start me off.

The following pictures are some of the other things I got and although they look like run of the mill hand tools even the smallest tools that could be deemed insignificant all have a purpose and I’m 100% sure I will make good use of them all.

Thes fine edge saw will help when doing handmade joints it leaves a much neater finish especially on soft woods.

Gent’s saw or Gentleman’s saw  — a small dovetail saw with a straight turned handle, rather than an open one typical of most saws. The name seems to have arisen from its use by the nineteenth century dilettante who would now be called a hobbyist but it is hard to find a nineteenth century reference to it. For example, in the section on tools in Every Man his own Mechanic (1881) (816pp), tenon, dovetail and sash saws are listed as a group but there is no mention of a gent’s saw. It is adapted for use in making joints in very small woodwork such as that in some musical instruments, dolls’ furniture or other model-making. Its distinguishing features are its small size and turned handle.

(info taken from wikipedia)

Such a handy little tool.

A block plane is a small woodworking hand plane which typically has the iron bedded at a lower angle than other planes, with the bevel up. It is designed to cut end grain and is typically small enough to be used with one hand.

According to Patrick’s Stanley Blood and Gore, Stanley marketing materials states that, “A Block Plane was first made to meet the demand for a Plane which could be easily held in one hand while planing across the grain, particularly the ends of boards, etc. This latter work many Carpenters call ‘Blocking in’, hence the name ‘Block’ Plane.” Tradition also claims that the block plane gets its name from its traditional use to level and remove cleaver marks from butchers’ blocks that were built with the end grain facing up. (Info taken from Wikipedia).

The fretsaw is a saw used for intricate cutting work which often incorporates tight curves. Although the coping saw is often used for similar work, the fretsaw is capable of much tighter radii and more delicate work. It has a distinctive appearance due to the depth of its frame (typically between 10 and 20 inches), which together with the relatively short five inch blade makes this tool appear somewhat out of proportion compared to most other saws. (Info taken from Wikipedia).

A file is a metalworking and woodworking tool used to cut fine amounts of material from a workpiece. It most commonly refers to the hand tool style, which takes the form of a steel bar with a case hardened surface and a series of sharp, parallel teeth. Most files have a narrow, pointed tang at one end to which a handle can be fitted.

A similar tool is the rasp. This is an older form, with simpler teeth. As they have larger clearance between teeth, these are usually used on softer, non-metallic materials.

Related tools have been developed with abrasive surfaces, such as diamond abrasives or silicon carbide. Because of their similar form and function, these have also been termed ‘files’. (info taken from Wikipedia)

These are parts I will be needing to make some new items.

A Lazy Susan is a rotating tray, usually circular, placed on top of a table to aid in moving food on a large table.

The term “Lazy Susan” made its first written appearance in a Good Housekeeping article in 1906, although their existence dates back to the 18th century. Prior to the use of the term ‘Lazy Susan’, they were referred to as dumbwaiters, a term today applied to a small elevator for transporting food. There is no clear evidence as to the origin of the Susan part of Lazy Susan. (info taken from Wikipedia)

Yes this rather a long post so I will cut it short here and just say thanks you all once again for the help in gaining the funding that helped me buy these items, and watch out for the “Handy” ranges of storage & displays coming soon.

Drew

This entry was posted in Things in general and woody ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Delivery of my new Fund 101 tools, from Axminster Tools center.

  1. They are all to new and need a good coating of sawdust and wood filings to make them authentic and “broken in” You also need some tea cup stains on top of the plainer to make it fit in with the rest of the pictures you have your tea mug in 🙂

    Good to see your kit has arrived and is in one piece ready to be used in the near future i assume 🙂

    Francesca is making you a “special” cake for you once the tools are in place and ready to be christened 🙂

    • Thanks Craig 🙂

      I have a bit of sorting out to do over the next day or 2 then its off to buy some materials and start on the new range of “HANDY” displays and storage which I will keep under wraps till the Edinburgh Bead Fair on the 6th May 2012.

      OOh Cake nom nom nom…. better get my boots on then.

      Drew

  2. Reblogged this on I Really Heart Cupcakes and commented:
    If you voted for or have been interested in the Enterprise Fund 101 application for Handy Woodcrafts here is what Drew and Donna have put their funding towards 🙂

  3. Carol says:

    I am so pleased for you. I hope you realise that wee now expect even more from you than usual. lol. Joking aside, can’t wait for pics of your new products.

  4. Maria says:

    Get your boots on then Drew, I agree with Craig those tools will look a lot better with a good coating of sawdust. 🙂
    I am so pleased that you have been able to get your new tools. I look forward to see your new makes once you are ready to show them off.

  5. Stop Blogging and get working.

    It’s good to see someone get a hand up and not a hand out…..”give a man a fish” etc.

    I have used Axminster myself and found them very useful.

    I can’t wait to see what you do with them, post pictures please.

    Well done again

    Vik

    .

    • Well today I wanted to go out and do some stuff but the poor wee dug hasn’t been well and I have had to take her back to the vets.

      Pictures will be a definite I like taking pictures of our projects, but I want to keep some of the things under wraps for a bit while i develop them further. One thing I have learnt over the past year or so is to concentrate on core items. I feel I have spread myself to thin by trying to make far to many different things in the past.

  6. Sarah says:

    Can’t wait to see some marvellous makes from your new tools Drew…You worked hard to get them so enjoy!!! S x

  7. I have been trying to collect many of those hand tools. I made a first rough attempt at hand cutting a set of dovetail joints. I was able to mash them together, but it wasn’t smooth at all. I think I need to take more time and use a harder wood when I try it again.

Leave a Reply

